What Is Distracted Driving and How an Accident Attorney Can Help

Everyone loves to think it could never happen to them. People watch the PSAs, they may even hear live lectures about it, but they still leave thinking it’s “other people’s” problem. Some might even think the issue is so amusing they can’t help but text their friends about it– while they’re behind the wheel. Next thing they know, the very issue they mocked suddenly becomes their own downfall.

Distracted Driving: How Dangerous Is It?

Distracted driving is a rapidly growing problem in the United States. Modern technology has escalated this issue by making quick communication so convenient that many people, especially teenagers and those in their 20s, have practically become addicted to it. Talking on the phone or texting while driving is not only dangerous, but illegal in most areas. Operating a vehicle requires complete visual and mental attention, and even a diversion for a second can cause serious accidents.

Technology is not the only cause of distracted driving. People have also been involved in collisions from eating, drinking, grooming, adjusting the radio, or even talking to passengers in the car. Those who decide to “multitask” in this way need to be extremely cautious in doing so. In the United States, more than 1,100 people are injured in car crashes involving a distracted driver every day.

If You Become a Victim

If you are involved in a car accident you believe was caused by a distracted driver, the best thing to do is contact an accident attorney as soon as possible. Many attorneys work with a team of investigators to learn the truth about what happened. They will collect all information and work closely with you to determine the best legal approach to take.

An accident attorney will figure out the liability involved in the incident and make sure you are adequately represented. By thoroughly examining the story behind you and all involved drivers, a solid legal team will prevent you from being compensated insufficiently. Car insurance companies go to great lengths to avoid paying massive fees on behalf of their customers. The accident attorney you hire must be aggressive and experienced to counteract these actions.

Cracking Down On Negligence

Many states are working on ways to enforce stricter penalties for distracted drivers. In Utah, a fatal car crash caused by a texting driver is treated the same way as one caused by a drunk driver, with penalties being up to 15 years in prison. In Maryland, the planned enactment of “Jake’s Law,” named after a young victim of a distracted driver, would raise the penalties of such a collision to three years in prison, a $5,000 fine, and a suspended license. An experienced accident attorney will not only fight to enforce these state laws onto those responsible, but also make sure you are covered for your medical bills, pain and suffering, and the time spent missing work. You’ve been through enough, let your counsel take it from here.


by Ali Golchin

Being Involved in an Auto Accident with Children

by Ali Golchin

Since children under 18 years of age are not treated the same as adults in the eyes of law, any legal matter involving them can get tricky. If you have a child that was injured in a car accident, either as a pedestrian or as a passenger, it is important to know what steps you can take to claim compensation. Children are just as entitled as adults are to compensation when they are injured automobile accidents. By hiring an auto accident attorney, you can be sure that your child recovers the damages that they deserve.

Making a Claim on Behalf of the Child

It may seem strange to try and file an auto accident claim for your child who is under 18 years of age, but as their parent, it is your choice. Your child is not able to file a claim for themselves and if they were injured in the accident, you need to be able to pay for their medical needs and anything else that may come up because of the accident. An auto accident attorney can help you through the process so that you know what is required and how to file the claim.

Once your child turns 18, they can file claims on their own for any automobile accidents. If you started the claim for your child before they turned 18 years of age, the child should take responsibility for the claim once they are of age. Furthermore, if you decide not to file a claim for an auto accident for your teenage child, they can file one themselves once they are 18.

If your child suffered serious injuries and are not medically capable of dealing with their own claim, they will not be responsible for it once they turn 18.

The Litigation Friend

You are considered your child’s litigation friend when you file a claim on their behalf. This title is given to you in any documentation to keep the claim clear and easy to understand. It is important to note that the litigation friend is independent of the claim, so if you are to blame for the accident, you may not file a claim for your child. In this situation, the other parent or any close relative can file the claim on your child’s behalf. Your insurance will have to pay out to your child along with the other party if they are at fault.

If the claim is won, the litigation friend doesn’t receive any compensation. The money is put into a trust for the child and is only accessible with permission from the court until the child is 18 years of age.

If your child is involved in an auto accident, things can get complicated without the help of an auto accident attorney who is familiar with automobile accidents involving children.